Biker News - Regularly updated

Welcome to our News section, where articles are listed below and if relevant within the categories on the right, just to make it easier for you to find what you wish to read...

Please note that the content within our News section (text and images), follows the same copyright laws/notice as all other content on the website - ie not to be reproduced (including slightly amending) without prior consent. 

Magnificent 7 Revealed For Irish Motorcyclist Of The Year

Posted on


Seven riders will battle it out for the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, in association with Adelaide Insurance Services.  

The “Magnificent 7” have been shortlisted after thousands of bike fans voted in a special online poll for their favourite rider of 2012.  The winner will be presented with the famous Joey Dunlop trophy at the Adelaide Motorcycle Awards in Belfast on January 18.  

There are four short-circuit competitors, two road racers and one off road rider in the mix to win the most prestigious award in Irish Motorcycling.  Clogher’s Keith Farmer is short listed for the second year in a row after winning a second successive British Championship. He added the Superstock 1000cc title to the 600cc crown he won last year, and has secured a ride in the British Superbike Series next season.   Michael Dunlop winning his second TT in June, recording 5 wins at the Southern 100 in July, taking his first international Superbike victory at the Ulster Grand Prix in August and claiming the Open Irish road race championship in September.  

Jack Kennedy from Dublin was a multiple winner in the British Supersport Championship. He was denied an overall victory after breaking down in the last race of the season.  

On the world scene, Jonathan Rea and Eugene Laverty finished fifth and sixth respectively in the World Superbike Championship. Rea was also the first British winner of the Suzuka 8 hour race and deputised in MotoGP for Casey Stoner.  

In road racing, Dungannon’s Ryan Farquhar secured a unique treble of NW200, UGP and TT victories before retiring at the end of the year, while Michael Dunlop from Ballymoney had an thrilling UGP double, an Isle of Man TT victory and an Irish title to celebrate during a memorable 2012.  

The sole motocross rider is Graeme Irwin who excelled in the MX2 series and also finished third in the Red Bull Pro National.  Previous winner, former British Champion Adrian Coates, is the chairman of the judging panel and assisting the event’s organisers to oversee the public vote. He says the result will be the closest call in many years. He commented: “Our riders have been outstanding on World, British and Irish level, both on the short circuits, the roads, and off road. That’s what has made this year’s vote such an intriguing one. We are blessed to have so many top class riders in the country.”  

In all more than a dozen other awards will be presented on the night, including the Black Horse short circuit rider of the Year, IFS International Road Racer, Charles Hurst Hall Fame, Red Bull Young Rider, Belleek Team of the Year, Greenlight Television Special Award, Alias Off Road Rider, Adelaide Outstanding Achievement, Duke Road Race Rankings, Adelaide Mondello Masters, Belfast Telegraph Race of the Year, and the IAM Safety Award.   BBC’s Jackie Fullerton and Stephen Watson will once again host the black tie event, which is now a sell out.  

Read on Right To Ride

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:
  • This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Add a comment