Biker News - Regularly updated

Welcome to our News section, where articles are listed below and if relevant within the categories on the right, just to make it easier for you to find what you wish to read...

Please note that the content within our News section (text and images), follows the same copyright laws/notice as all other content on the website - ie not to be reproduced (including slightly amending) without prior consent. 

Fernandez wins wet EJC race at Assen

Posted on


Spaniard Augusto Fernandez won today’s second-round European Junior Cup race at Assen in the Netherlands, leading from first corner to chequered flag to narrow the lead at the top of the 2014 championship.

Fernandez is second in a Spanish 1-2-3 at the top of the table with Marc Miralles leading the way after finishing in third place in today’s six-lap race at the 4.542km Assen circuit, adding to his first round win at Aragon in Spain two weeks ago. Javier Orellana could finish only eighth today, but still sits in championship third position.

In damp conditions in Assen, which followed disruption to the schedule following a heavily-delayed second World Superbike championship race, Jesper Hubner finished in second place today. The Swedish rider is just one point behind Orellana in the table.

Podium finisher in Aragon, Mika Perez, was one of several riders who fell victim to today’s wet conditions but local Dutch wildcard, Ricardo Brink, finished in a creditable fourth place, while his fellow Dutchman and the second Assen wildcard, Jamie van Sikkelerus, rounded out the top ten.

“It was a difficult weekend,” said Fernandez after the race. “I started from sixth place on the grid but my start was OK. I was a bit nervous but went into the first corner in the lead. I thought I could push, but I had to concentrate very hard. I’m very happy with this win, though, and I look forward to Imola.”


2014 European Junior Cup, powered by Honda Racing

Round 2: Assen, Netherlands - race result:

1 Augusto Fernandez (ESP)

2 Jesper Hubner (SWE)

3 Marc Miralles (ESP)

4 Ricardo Brink (NED)

5 Hannes Soomer (EST)

6 Paolo Grassia (ITA)

7 Connor London (NZL)

8 Javier Orellana (ESP)

9 Alex Wisdom (USA)

10 Jamie van Sikkelerus

Championship points after two of eight rounds:

Miralles 41, Fernandez 38, Orellana 28, Hubner 27, Soomer 20, Grassia 18, Perez 16, Angelo Licciardi (BEL) 14, London 14, Brink 13.

Next race: Imola, Italy – 9-11 May

Add a comment:

Leave a comment:
  • This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Add a comment